Levels of eLearning

How long it takes to develop eLearning? The answer to this question varies based on the length, type, complexity, and level of interactivity needed. Different levels of eLearning are often described as a progression from basic to more complex or interactive forms of online learning. Here are examples of each level:



Level 1 - Passive eLearning

Learners are presented with information or content that they must read or watch, with little to no interaction or feedback. Passive eLearning is suitable for delivering large amounts of information quickly and efficiently to a large audience. It's ideal for situations where learners require a basic understanding of a topic or need to review information at their own pace.

Level 2 - Limited interaction eLearning

Learners have some control over the pace and sequencing of the content. Learners have basic opportunities for interaction, feedback, and engagement. Limited interactivity is appropriate for situations where learners need complex information to be chunked or divided into smaller learning, to practice applying what they've learned, and get immediate feedback.

Level 3 - Complex interaction eLearning

Learners actively participate in the learning process through more complex and engaging learning experiences. Moderate interactivity is ideal for topics that require higher-order thinking, problem-solving, and decision-making skills. It's also great for engaging learners in more complex and immersive learning experiences.

Level 4 - Authentic eLearning

Learners engage in advanced and complex learning experiences with a high level of interactivity that often includes collaborative elements. Authentic eLearning replicates real-life situations or tasks where learners need to develop advanced skills and knowledge, work collaboratively, and engage in higher-level thinking and reflection. It's ideal for complex topics that require deep understanding and mastery.

Few eLearning courses are designed for a single level. Courses may include a mix of strategies and activities across any or all of these levels, depending on your needs. In the next few posts, we will explore each of these four levels in more detail.